South Australia District Court appoints Dentons Adelaide office head to the bench

New silks were also appointed by the Victorian Supreme Court

South Australia District Court appoints Dentons Adelaide office head to the bench

The District Court of South Australia has appointed the head of Dentons’s Adelaide office to the bench.

Karen Thomas takes the place of Judge Wayne Chivell, who is retiring on 19 October. Her appointment takes effect today.

Thomas has over three decades of experience as a commercial lawyer. She focuses on public and private protracted commercial disputes, particularly in the infrastructure, engineering and construction and insurance sectors.

She has played various roles as a lawyer, including solicitor, advocate, junior barrister, assisting counsel, independent investigator, legal practice manager and decision-maker in grievance committees and professional conduct disciplinary inquiries. She has represented the state government and has appeared before the Federal Court.

Thomas became the managing partner of SA firm Fisher Jeffries in 1995. After the firm combined with Dentons last year, she was tapped to lead Dentons’s Adelaide branch and to join the global firm’s board.

“Karen has made a significant contribution to Dentons and the wider legal industry during the course of her career. I look forward to watching her continued achievements as she takes this exciting new step in her career,” said Doug Stipanicev, the firm’s Australia chair and CEO of the Australasia region.

New silks appointed by Victorian Supreme Court

Victorian Supreme Court Chief Justice Anne Ferguson also announced the appointment of 18 new senior counsel.

“I am proud to welcome 18 new silks to the Victorian Bar. Their experience and professionalism reflect the bar’s values of excellence and leadership,” Victorian Bar president Wendy Harris QC said. “These qualities will stand them in good stead as they embark on the next phase of their outstanding careers by providing vital legal advice to the broader legal profession and the community.”

The full list of new silks is as follows:

  • Donald James Farrands
  • Patrick Leo Bourke
  • Peter Richard Fary
  • Timothy John Puckey
  • Julianne Elizabeth Jaques
  • Lisa Janelle Hannon
  • Patrick Joseph Wheelahan
  • Justin Stuart Graham
  • Peter Harcourt Wallis
  • Megan Tittensor
  • Alistair David Pound
  • Paul Tasman Vout
  • Sandro Samy Goubran
  • Christopher Thomas Carr
  • Daniel James McInerney
  • Georgina Anne Coghlan
  • Elizabeth Helen Ruddle
  • Benno Matthew Ihle

Recent articles & video

DLA Piper guides $9bn cross-border acquisition

NSW Supreme Court resolves settlement funds dispute

New principal solicitors bolster National Justice Project

Deadline closing in for top dealmakers of 2024

Height 4 Hire snaps up Global Hire & Services with Macpherson Kelley's help

Pinsent Masons establishes WHS team with Sparke Helmore hire

Most Read Articles

Gavin MacLaren to remain Corrs senior partner and CEO

ABL helps Retailors Ltd pick up Nike, Samsung businesses

Pinsent Masons establishes WHS team with Sparke Helmore hire

DLA Piper guides $9bn cross-border acquisition