Russell McVeagh elects new board and partnership chairs

With the appointments, women hold the key leadership roles in the firm

Russell McVeagh elects new board and partnership chairs
Allison Arthur-Young, Polly Pope, Jo Avenell

Russell McVeagh has elected new board and partnership chairs.

Environment, planning and natural resources partner Allison Arthur-Young succeeds Malcolm Crotty as chair of the board, while litigation partner Polly Pope takes over from Sarah Keene as chair of the partnership.

Arthur-Young first became part of Russell McVeagh in 2005. Since then, she has taken on leadership positions within the firm, including serving a term as the national practice group chair of the environment, planning and natural resources team.

She was welcomed into the firm’s board as a member in 2018.

“It is an honour to be appointed as board chair of Russell McVeagh and I look forward to continuing the progress and momentum we have all made in ensuring we are a firm our clients and our people are proud to be associated with,” Arthur-Young said.

Outgoing chair Crotty returns to full-time practice as a litigation partner after three years at the helm.

"I am extremely proud of Russell McVeagh and our people within the firm. I'm confident I leave the board in very capable hands and look forward to continuing to see our firm go from strength to strength,” he said.

Jo Avenell, the firm’s CEO, thanked Crotty for his leadership.

“Both Allison and Malcolm, alongside the rest of the board, have done an incredible job navigating our firm through many challenges over the last few years, including most recently the impact of COVID-19, and the firm's culture transformation,” Avenell said. “I would like to acknowledge Malcolm's steady stewardship which has been integral to shaping Russell McVeagh into the firm we are today.”

Corporate advisory partner Joe Windmeyer also makes his exit from the board alongside Crotty, clearing the way for the entry of partners Ian Beaumont and Tom Hunt. They join partners Matt Kersey and Mei Fern Johnson as board members.

“The make-up of the new board ensures we have struck a good balance between having consistency of stewardship and governance, as well as fresh insights and perspectives. We are confident we are well placed to continue to remain a market-leading New Zealand firm,” Avenell said.

Recent articles & video

Wellington District Court judge named principal Youth Court judge

Simpson Grierson elevates public law specialist to senior associate

Working remotely has become a top priority for lawyers: ABA report

Ashurst announces board appointments

LexisNexis NZ welcomes new GM with a vision for customer-centric focus and commitment

Henderson Reeves promotes three to director

Most Read Articles

LexisNexis NZ welcomes new GM with a vision for customer-centric focus and commitment

Guardians of NZ Superannuation promotes Russell McVeagh alum to GC

AJ Park promotes patent attorney

Is the 4-day workweek an inevitable part of our future?