Australasian Law Awards 2021 crowns the winners of the industry and firm categories

The excellence awardees across 19 categories were named as well

Australasian Law Awards 2021 crowns the winners of the industry and firm categories

The Australasian Law Awards has announced the winners of the 2 industry categories and 17 firm awards categories for 2021.

The Australasian Law Awards celebrate excellence across the legal profession in Australia and New Zealand.

Due to the volume of strong contenders this year, excellence awardees have been named in each category in addition to the overall winners.

“As the chief executive officer of Resolution Institute, I am enormously proud of our sponsorship of the Australian Mediator of the Year award in the Australasian Law Awards,” Resolution Institute CEO Amber Williams said. “We have been an integral part of these awards now for four years and it’s a real pleasure to see this vital and rewarding work being recognised at this prestigious level, work made all the more challenging for everyone in this time of a global pandemic.”

“I look forward to many more years of participation in these awards as this exciting growth industry continues to attract the best and the brightest practitioners this country has to offer. Australia is showing the rest of the world how arbitration and mediation are done and the awards reflect that,” she said.

Industry Awards:

Resolution Institute Australian Mediator of the Year

Winner: Dr. Anne Purcell, Resolution Partners

Excellence Awardees

  • Alison James, SHAW Dispute Resolution
  • Lisanne Iriks, Life Mediation
  • Marguerite Picard, Smart Separation

Legal Service Provider of the Year

Winner: Thomson Reuters Australia

Excellence Awardees

Firm Awards:

NZ Deal Firm of the Year

Winner: Bell Gully Corporate
Winner: Chapman Tripp

Excellence Awardees

  • MinterEllisonRuddWatts
  • Russell McVeagh – Corporate Advisory
  • Simpson Grierson – Corporate Advisory

Australian Dealmaker of the Year

Winner: Tony Damian, Herbert Smith Freehills

Excellence Awardees

NZ Dealmaker of the Year

Winner: Silvana Schenone, MinterEllisonRuddWatts

Excellence Awardees

  • Anna Buchly, Bell Gully
  • Ian Beaumont, Russell McVeagh
  • Michael Pollard, Simpson Grierson
  • Nathanael Starrenburg, Harmos Horton Lusk
  • Roger Wallis, Chapman Tripp

Corporate Citizen of the Year

Winner: Clayton Utz

Excellence Awardees

Excellence in Employee Health & Wellbeing

Winner: Allens
Winner: Legalite

Excellence Awardees

Excellence in Technology & Innovation

Winner: Gilbert + Tobin

Excellence Awardees

  • Clayton Utz
  • Herbert Smith Freehills
  • Lander & Rogers
  • LodgeX Legal
  • K&L Gates

Employment Law Specialist Firm of the Year

Winner: Harmers Workplace Lawyers

Excellence Awardees

  • Aitken Legal
  • Australian Business Lawyers & Advisors (ABLA)
  • Danny King Legal
  • McDonald Murholme
  • Workdynamic Australia

Insurance Specialist Firm of the Year

Winner: TurksLegal

Excellence Awardees

  • Barry.Nilsson.
  • Gilchrist Connell
  • Holman Webb Lawyers
  • Meridian Lawyers
  • Moray & Agnew

Boutique Firm of the Year

Winner: Aptum Legal
Winner: The Fold Legal
Winner: Wright Legal - Banking and Finance Lawyers

Excellence Awardees

Young Private Practice Lawyer of the Year (30 or under)

Winner: Kerrie Duong, Baker McKenzie

Excellence Awardees

  • Declan Norrie, Proximity
  • Kevin Pai, Bugden Allen Lawyers
  • Kevin Shum, Allen & Overy
  • Lauren Jeffries, Herbert Smith Freehills

Law Firm Leader of the Year (<200 Employees)

Winner: Sam Frey, KCL Law

Excellence Awardees

  • Amanda Banton, Banton Group
  • Bechara Shamieh, Madison Marcus
  • Kelli Martin, KLM Solicitors
  • Nick Humphrey, Hamilton Locke
  • Stipe Vuleta, Chamberlains

Law Firm Leader of the Year (>200 Employees)

Winner: Andrew Pike, Herbert Smith Freehills
Winner: Genevieve Collins, Lander & Rogers

Excellence Awardees

State/Regional Firm of the Year

Winner: Keypoint Law

Excellence Awardees

Law Firm of the Year (1-100 Lawyers)

Winner: LegalVision

Excellence Awardees

  • Banton Group
  • Chamberlains Law Firm
  • Coutts Lawyers & Conveyancers
  • Thynne + Macartney

Law Firm of the Year (101-500 Lawyers)

Winner: Gilbert + Tobin

Excellence Awardees

Law Firm of the Year (>500 Lawyers)

Winner: Herbert Smith Freehills

Excellence Awardees

  • Allens
  • Ashurst
  • Clayton Utz
  • Corrs Chambers Westgarth

Diversity Initiative of the Year

Winner: Ashurst

Excellence Awardees

  • Bird & Bird
  • Hall & Wilcox
  • Harmers Workplace Lawyers
  • Wotton + Kearney

Congratulations to all the winners and excellence award recipients.

The awards team at Australasian Lawyer will be working with the winners on new ways to celebrate and share their successes with their clients, colleagues and communities.

The winners list is also provided here.

Related stories

Free newsletter

Subscribe to our FREE newsletter service and we’ll keep you up-to-date with the latest breaking news, cutting edge opinion, and expert analysis affecting both your business and the industry as whole.

Please enter your email address below and click on Sign Up for daily newsletters from Australasian Lawyer.

Recent articles & video

Holding Redlich confirms role in $3bn super merger

Government announces counter-terrorism legislation

Lateral partner hires boost Ashurst's Asia offerings

Cornwalls adds migration offering after merger

NSW man faces charges after extremist online posts

Clifford Chance bolsters US securities law and debt offering with new partner in Hong Kong

Most Read Articles

Six make partner as Moray & Agnew looks ahead to 2022

Australian Unity Trustees' legal services head on making a difference as an elder law specialist

Baker McKenzie guides $729m renewables assets sale to Shell and ICG consortium

White & Case elevates six to counsel in Australia