Australasian Law Awards 2021 crowns the winners of the in-house categories

The excellence awardees across six categories were named as well

Australasian Law Awards 2021 crowns the winners of the in-house categories

The Australasian Law Awards has announced the winners of the six in-house categories for 2021.

The Australasian Law Awards celebrate excellence across the legal profession in Australia and New Zealand.

Due to the volume of strong contenders this year, excellence awardees have been named in each category in addition to the overall winners.

Banking & Financial Services In-house Team of the Year

Winner: Macquarie Capital Legal Team

Excellence Awardees

  • HUB24 Legal Team
  • hummgroup
  • Legal & Compliance Team, Active Super
  • UBS AG, Australia Branch

Insurance In-house Team of the Year

Winner: AIA Australia

Excellence Awardees

  • Berkley Insurance Australia
  • HBF Health
  • IAG Legal

Young In-house Lawyer of the Year (30 or under)

Winner: Esther Lee, NSW Treasury

Excellence Awardees

  • Adam Papadakis, Boehringer Ingelheim
  • Kate Cook, TAL Life
  • Seyda Andrews, Accor
  • Theo Kapodistrias, UpGuard

Australian In-house Lawyer of the Year

Winner: Annie Haggar, Accenture

Excellence Awardees

  • Kiri-Ana Libbesson, Settlement Services International
  • Marnie Manning, Coroners Court of Victoria
  • Michael Chin, eftpos Payments Australia
  • Nathan Lanthois, Transdev Australasia
  • Paul Gregory, WesTrac

Australian In-house Team of the Year

Winner: Sydney Airport Legal Team

Excellence Awardees

  • Australian Federal Police (AFP) Chief Counsel Portfolio, comprising AFP Legal and Criminal Assets Litigation teams
  • DPDHL In House Legal Team
  • James Hardie Industries plc
  • NSW Treasury Office of General Counsel
  • Regulatory Legal Services Branch in the Therapeutic Goods Administration (part of the Australian Government Department of Health)

NZ In-house Team of the Year

Winner: Airways

Excellence Awardees

  • AIA New Zealand
  • Fonterra Cooperative Group
  • Metlifecare
  • Perpetual Guardian Legal Team
  • UBS New Zealand

Congratulations to all the winners and excellence award recipients.

The awards team at Australasian Lawyer will be working with the winners on new ways to celebrate and share their successes with their clients, colleagues and communities.

The industry and firm award winners and excellence awardees will be announced on 17 June 2021 at 9am (AEST).

The winners list will also be posted here.

Related stories

Free newsletter

Subscribe to our FREE newsletter service and we’ll keep you up-to-date with the latest breaking news, cutting edge opinion, and expert analysis affecting both your business and the industry as whole.

Please enter your email address below and click on Sign Up for daily newsletters from Australasian Lawyer.

Recent articles & video

Hunt & Hunt principal: ‘Being promoted is about a lot more than individual effort’

HSF partner named VP and GC at burgeoning tech company

Biden makes history with US attorney noms

NewLaw litigation firm launches corporate and commercial offering

Who are this year’s top legal employers?

HFW urges staff to champion sustainability through year-long global challenge

Most Read Articles

Madgwicks promotes new partner, elevates two to associate

Holding Redlich partner enjoys ‘translating’ for clients as a lawyer

Clayton Utz coaches Brisbane to victory in 2032 Olympics hosting bid

Maddocks advises on multimillion-dollar acquisition of leading online vegan retailer