Australasian Law Awards winners announced

Meet the winners of the 2015 Australasian Law Awards.

Australasian Law Awards winners announced
More than 430 of the legal industry’s finest filled the ballroom at Sydney’s Shangri-La Hotel last night for the inaugural Australasian Law Awards. The event was a roaring success, and celebrated the outstanding achievements of the legal profession.

The firms, in-house teams and lawyers who took our last night’s awards are listed below:

Insolvency and Restructuring Deal of the Year   
Mirabela restructure and recapitalisation

Property, Infrastructure and Projects Deal of the Year   
NBN Co and Telstra – Renegotiation of Agreements to Rollout the National Broadband Network

Debt Market Deal of the Year    
Roy Hill iron ore project

Energy and Resources Deal of the Year                 
Roy Hill iron ore project

Equity Deal of the Year                 
Medibank Private IPO

M&A Deal of the Year   
Westfield Group demerger and subsequent merger with Westfield Retail Trust

Corporate Citizen Firm of the Year          
Salvos Legal

JLT Employee Health & Wellbeing Award           
Herbert Smith Freehills

Banking & Financial Services In-house Team of the Year              
Westpac Banking Corporation

Sparke Helmore Insurance In-house Team of the Year  

Gilbert + Tobin Investment Bank In-house Team of the Year      

Empire Careers Employment Law Specialist Firm of the Year      
Harmers Workplace Lawyers

AIG Insurance Specialist Firm of the Year             
Wotton + Kearney

IP Specialist Firm of the Year     
Griffith Hack

Russell McVeagh NZ In-house Team of the Year                               
Fonterra Co-operative Group Limited

Clayton Utz Australian in-house Team of the Year           

FTI Consulting Australian In-house Lawyer of the Year  
Justin Forsell, NBN Co Legal Group

NZ Dealmaker of the Year           
John Strowger, Chapman Tripp

Australian Dealmaker of the Year            
Philippa Stone, Herbert Smith Freehills

NZ Deal Team of the Year            
Chapman Tripp

Australian Deal Team of the Year            
Herbert Smith Freehills, M&A team

Scarlis Pringle Law Firm Leader of the Year         
Danny Gilbert, Gilbert + Tobin

Australian Deal of the Year         
Westfield Group demerger and subsequent merger with Westfield Retail Trust

International Deal of the Year   
Hasting Funds Management and China Merchants Group’s acquisition of the long-term lease of Port of Newcastle

Australasian Lawyer International Firm of the Year         
King & Wood Mallesons

State/ Regional Firm of the Year              

FTI Consulting Australian Boutique Firm of the Year       
Salvos Legal

Huon IT Australian Law Firm of the Year (100-249 lawyers)          
Johnson Winter & Slattery

Australian Law Firm of the Year (250-500 lawyers)           
Gilbert + Tobin

FTI Consulting Australian Large Law Firm of the Year      
Clayton Utz

For more information visit

Recent articles & video

Court of Appeal upholds forfeiture of ‘gang pad’ in Christchurch

Nelson District Court hears council claim against lawyer over parking fines

Anderson Lloyd adopts new document management system

NZLS VP to vacate post

One NZ chief transformation officer could have been an ethical hacker

Rising Star snags seat on NZSA board

Most Read Articles

Acting judges appointed to Court of Appeal

Court of Appeal: Lawyer's client must pay $1.3m loan to Westpac despite lawyer's thievery

Tauranga firm welcomes Māori law specialist

Bell Gully, Anderson Lloyd get nods in 2024 Chambers guide