ACT government appoints chair of Law Reform and Sentencing Advisory Council

She previously served as an ACT magistrate for 25 years

ACT government appoints chair of Law Reform and Sentencing Advisory Council

The Government of the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) has announced the appointment of Lisbeth Campbell as chair of the Law Reform and Sentencing Advisory Council (LRSAC).

Campbell, who retired last March after she served as an ACT magistrate for 25 years, will be leading the LRSAC in its duty of providing expert advice and sentencing law reform in the ACT. It will be reporting on law reform matters and will be advising on sentencing matters.

Campbell was appointed through a public recruitment process along with six other members, namely: John Boersig (legal assistance sector member), Joanne Chivers (first nations community member), Janet Hope (academic member), Nadine Miles (juvenile justice member), Shobha Varkey (community member), and Heidi Yates (victims of crimes advocacy member).

Those who will be serving as representatives of their office are Bruno Aloisi (acting ACT Corrective Services commissioner), Tim Dingwall (ACT Law Society representative), Neil Gaughan (ACT chief police officer), Keegan Lee (ACT Bar Association representative), Penelope Mathew (president of the ACT Human Rights Commission), and Anthony Williamson SC (acting ACT director of public prosecutions).

“I am genuinely delighted to accept the position as inaugural Chair of the Council,” Campbell said in a news release. “It provides an opportunity for me to continue to be involved in the justice system of which I have been a part for 25 years.”

The new chair asserted that the council’s decisions and recommendations will anchor on a thorough and unbiased evaluation of issues based on evidence and analysis. She added that its work would not be influenced by political or extraneous considerations and predetermined views.

“The make-up of the new Law Reform and Sentencing Advisory Council is diverse, and draws together people from the justice sector, academia, and the wider community,” said Shane Rattenbury, the attorney general.

“The 13-member council will play an important role in considering our laws and recommending reforms to ensure that they remain current and are responsive to emerging issues and community expectations,” he added.

The government’s intent is for the first two referrals to the LRSAC to involve an examination of the current bail system of the ACT as well as the sentencing for offences concerning dangerous driving. Reportedly, the terms of references concerned with the two referrals are still being developed.

The council is set to meet for the first time in December.

Recent articles & video

Federal Court declares misleading conduct in wine labelling dispute

NSW Local Court strengthens bench with four

NRF guides Vestas on wind farm project

Promotions boost DLA Piper's senior ranks

Maurice Blackburn director to helm the Australian Lawyers Alliance as national president

Thomson Geer advises McPherson's on Multix brand sale

Most Read Articles

Clyde & Co lawyer makes move to W+K

Hall & Wilcox helps CHG-Meridian acquire asset portfolio from Maia Financial

Lawyers seek access to Johnson & Johnson communications in talcum powder lawsuit

SA Supreme Court denies company's request for additional legal funds